Department of Mridangam

Deparment of Mridangam was established in the year 1979 with Prof.Parassala Ravi as the Head. He was followed by Prof.Vaikom P.S Venugopal, Prof. Tvpm M. Balasubrahmaniam and Prof L. Sreedhar. Academic programmes like Scholar in Residence and Sadhana are conducted annually. Students are given interactive classes with Maestros like Dr. T.K Moorthy,Guru Karaikudi Mani, Prof.Trichy Sankaran , Sri Palakkad T .R Rajamani, Sri Mannargudi A. Easwaran etc.


Qualification of teachers

Sl.No Name Post Qualification Ph.No
1. Santhosh Kumar G HOD,Lecturer in Mridangam M.A Mridangam 9447567632
2. P. Susheel Kumar Lecturer in Mridangam M.A Mridangam 9447074426
3. M.T Jayan Lecturer in Mridangam M.A Mridangam 8848145482
4. P.H Rajeswary Lecturer in Mridangam M.A Mridangam 9633555582
5. K.T Thilakarajan Lecturer in Mridangam M.A Mridangam 9446192330
6. S.N Sunil Kumar Lecturer in Mridangam M.A Mridangam 9895593586


Courses offered

B.A Mridangam – Candidates with +2 pass and basic awareness on talam can apply. They should also have the ability to play the basic lessons. Total seats allotted – 10

M.A Mridangam – Students with a B.A in Mridangam can apply. Admission will be based on the marks scored for B.A as well as aptitude test in Mridangam.Total seats allotted – 12

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *